Leisha Slone, Regent
Victoria Pack, Vice Regent
Victoria Pack, Chaplain
Joan Piercey, Recording Secretary
Joan Piercey, Corresponding Secretary
Leisha Slone, Treasurer
Mary Preston, Registrar
Kathy Lowe, Historian
◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊
HISTORY OF THE CHAPTER
The Harman Station Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution, located at Paintsville, Kentucky, takes its name from the first settlement in Eastern Kentucky established by Captain Matthias Harman's hunting party in 1787. This was thirteen years after the establishment of the first permanent white settlement of Kentucky at Harrodsburg.
Harman was born near Strasburg, Virginia, about 1732. His father, Heinrich Herrman, came from Prussia to Pennsylvania and finally to Strasburg, Virginia. While growing up in Virginia, Matthias Harman became a hunter and ranged the woods with expertise. His experience with Indians caused him to develop an extreme hatred for the Indian and a belief in their extermination.
He was infatuated with the land around the Louisa, or Levisa River, (today known as the Big Sandy River.) His infatuation, based on the fact that game was so plentiful, caused him to make his way yearly to the area to take advantage of the deer, elk, buffalo, bear, beaver, small game, and birds. Eventually, he built a great blockhouse and made the area his home. Several of his brothers joined the settlement as well as well-known longhunters.
On October 1, 1789, when Jenny Wiley was taken captive by the Cherokee and Shawnee Indians she learned that the savages thought they were in the home of Matthias Harman whom they called 'Skygusty' and feared because of his exploits. Harman's cabin was about one-half mile from the Wiley cabin. The families had come from Strasburg together to settle on the Virginia frontier of Kentucky.
When Wiley was finally able to escape, some months later, from the Indians it was in a company of men, lead by Matthias "Skygusty ' Harman. These men escorted her back to her husband and her old home.